The Pennsylvania State University The Graduate School at Penn State

Graduate Council Membership List

2014–2015 Graduate Council


Elected Members (voting)

*Sarah Ades, Associate Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Eberly College of Science

*Ramaswamy Anantheswaran, Professor of Food Science, College of Agricultural Sciences

**Mallika Bose, Associate Professor of Landscape Architecture, College of Arts and Architecture

Thomas Bowers, Associate Professor of Psychology, Penn State Harrisburg

*Steven Branstetter, Assistant Professor of Biobehavioral Health, College of Health and Human Development (Fall 2014)

*Robert Brooks, Professor of Geography and Ecology, College of Earth and Mineral Sciences

Roy Clariana, Professor of Education, College of Education

*Mary Jane De Souza, Professor of Kinesiology and Physiology, College of Health and Human Development (Spring 2015)

*Patrick Drew, Assistant Professor of Neurosurgery, College of Engineering

*James Fairbank, Associate Professor of Management, Penn State Erie

Roger Finke, Professor of Sociology and Religious Studies, College of the Liberal Arts

*L. Sam Finn, Professor of Physics, Eberly College of Science

Janet Fogg, Assistant Professor, College of Nursing

*Andris Freivalds, Professor of Industrial Engineering, College of Engineering

Taylor Greer, Associate Professor of Music, College of Arts & Architecture

*Kathleen Heid, Distinguished Professor of Mathematics Education, College of Education

*Marie Hojnacki, Associate Professor of Political Science, College of the Liberal Arts

Kit Hume, Edwin Erle Sparks Professor of English, College of the Liberal Arts

Alan L. Johnson, Walther H. Ott Professor in Avian Biology, College of Agricultural Sciences

James F. Kasting, Evan Pugh Professor of Geosciences, College of Earth and Mineral Sciences

Todd LaJeunesse, Associate Professor of Biology, Eberly College of Sciences

**Phillip Laplante, Professor of Software Engineering, Penn State Great Valley

Seroj Mackertich, Associate Professor of Engineering, Penn State Harrisburg

*Siela Maximova, Associate Professor of Horticulture, College of Agricultural Sciences

Sophia McClennen, Professor of Comparative Literature, Spanish and Women's Studies, School of International Affairs

*Denise Meister, Professor of Education, Penn State Harrisburg

Peter Molenaar, Distinguished Professor of Human Development and Family Studies, College of Health and Human Development

*Daniel Morgan, Assistant Professor, Department of Anesthesiology, College of Medicine

Katsuhiko Murakami, Associate Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Eberly College of Science

*Lise Nelson, Associate Professor of Women's Studies and Geography, College of the Liberal Arts

**Mary Beth Oliver, Distinguished Professor of Communications, College of Communications

Zoubeida Ounaies, Dorothy Quiggle Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering, College of Engineering

*Matthew Poehner, Associate Professor of Education (World Languages) and Applied Linguistics, College of Education

*Ramesh Ramachandran, Associate Professor of Molecular Endocrinology, College of Agricultural Sciences

Arvind Rngaswamy, Professor of Marketing, Smeal College of Business

Joan M. Redwing, Professor of Materials Science & Engineering, College of Earth and Mineral Sciences

Frank Ritter, Professor, College of Information Sciences and Technology

*Benjamin Schreier, Assistant Professor of English and Jewish Studies and Malvin and Lea Bank Early Professor in Jewish Studies, College of the Liberal Arts

*Jianxun Song, Associate Professor, Microbiology and Immunology, College of Medicine

David Spencer, Professor of Aerospace Engineering, College of Engineering

Richard St. Clair, Associate Professor of Theatre, College of Arts & Architecture

*Jim Thomas, William Elliott Professor of Risk and Management, Smeal College of Business

Krista Wilkinson, Professor of Communication Sciences and Disorders, College of Health and Human Development

*Feng Yue, Assistant Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, College of Medicine


*Newly elected    **Re-elected



Dean of the Graduate School (voting)

Regina Vasilatos-Younken, Interim Dean of the Graduate School (Chair)

Senior Associate Dean (voting)

[currently vacant]

Assistant Dean of the Graduate School (voting)

Suzanne Adair, Assistant Dean for Graduate Student Affairs and Director of the Office of Postdoctoral Affairs

World Campus Liaison (non-voting)

David Sylvia, Director of Academic Affairs for Graduate Programs, World Campus

Dickinson School of Law Member (non-voting)

Jamison Colburn, Joseph H. Goldstein Faculty Scholar and Professor of Law

University Faculty Senate Council Liaison (voting)

Caroline Eckhardt, Professor of Comparative Literature and English

Graduate and Professional Student Association Members (voting)

*Morteza Karimzadeh, Geography
*Jeffrey Masko, Communications
*Nathaniel Porter, Sociology
*Brad Sottile, Aerospace Engineering
*Doug Whalen, Plant Pathology

Participants at the request of the Chair (non-voting)

Lori Cottrill, Director of Network Operations and Data Systems
Robert Kubat, University Registrar
Tracey Noviello, Executive Assistant to the Dean of the Graduate School
Stephanie Preston, Senior Director, Office of Graduate Educational Equity Programs
Lori Ann Stania, Director of Graduate Student Services
Barbara Struble, Director of Graduate Fellowships and Awards Administration

Administrative Support to Graduate Council

Pam Wertz, Administrative Support Assistant
Roxanne Patton Zoschg, Administrative Support Assistant


*Newly elected   **Re-elected

Facebook Facebook LinkedIn LinkedIn